5 Stages of Grief: Denial and Isolation


There are situations in life that will almost hit us to our limits up to that point when we want to give up. In fact, if we will put in context that life can be inconsiderate and sometimes hard time strikes in spite of how we much avoid them, then we can adjust to the real world –a world that can bring sorrow and joy.

For the next five sessions, let us talk about 5 stages of grief. It is necessary to personally realize that having gone through life-changing events such Spinal Cord Injury and related loss. I experienced Spinal Cord Injury because of Spinal Epidural Hematoma operation, and I think the last 10 years taught me a lot about the topics we will be discussing later on. In relation to SCI, I want to set a friendly tone by using “we or us” because it will more appropriate to adapt a new way of thinking that considers our cases, although unique in its own way, is being experienced by all. I also recognize that these sessions may not cover all the needs we have to deal in each of us but at least we have a common ground through 5 stages of grief. Therefore, let us help each other by opening up and hitting the comment section below so we can hear about your experiences too.

  • Denial and Isolation


Julie Axelrod of Psychcentral exemplified denial as an individual’s behavior to create excuses against extreme emotional states in relation to present circumstances. She also added that people usually reject the true situation as a way to cope up with pain for the mean time (2016). Also Prof. Khattak et al. clarified denial as “arguing against anxiety provoking stimuli by stating it doesn’t exist” (Khattak et al., 2014, p. 49)


People who are experiencing denial usually do not talk about the real issue by magnifying preconceived rationalizations as a counter argument to solve the problem. That’s why instead of talking, they usually hide away to shrug off the pain. Based on my personal opinion denial occurs after hospitalization when all your support groups went back to their normal lives and you are left alone for some time. Instead of talking to a friend in order to vent out all the frustrations inside, some of us would rather choose to keep quiet and hold on to rationalizations so long as it makes sense.


It is normal to go through the stage of denial. On the other hand, this is the stage when we need family members and valuable friends to help us become oriented with the reality of sudden changes. It will be a great encouragement if they will just stay by our side until we cope up.

Recognizing that someone is in denial can help us give more grace and be patient with them until they finally accepted the change. So if someone is still denying the present situation, let us give them time and proper assistance by understanding their gradual coping mechanisms.




Axelrod, J. (2016, September 02). The 5 Stages of Grief & Loss. Retrieved February 12, 2017, from https://psychcentral.com/lib/the-5-stages-of-loss-and-grief/

Khattak, H. R., Dr., Yaqoob, S., & Basri, R. (n.d.). Communication Skills Module. Retrieved February 12, 2017, from https://www.coursehero.com/file/9099027/communication-skills-module/


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: