5 Stages of Grief: Acceptance

Hey! Thanks for staying tuned. Now, we are in the last session about 5 stages of grief. If you noticed on our previous session about 5 stages of grief, we inhibit greater emphasis to assure stage is necessary by itself and we have to go through them in order to gain acceptance. We are now on the last part of our session and I hope to hear from you as well.

After life-changing events hit someone, we must anticipate that they will not perform tasks or even function in a relationship as good as before. In fact, I personally think that it is rude to indirectly demand someone be okay when they are not. Because the society constructs an image that we have to take part in, sometimes we wear masks to fit into the parameter of being “okay” when we are just modifying our response to fit into accepted context when dealing with others. Although this may last for some time, this behavior is not leading us to acceptance at all. We are only using diversions for awhile. Dictionary.com defines acceptance as “the act of taking… something offered” (2017). That’s why we haven’t really gone to the last stage if we refuse reality.

Acceptance is what we must intentionally aim for. Intending to explain this stage further, Hill, T. (2016) wrote that we accepted something when we do not go back to the previous stage but we recognize that the life-changing really happened and we can communicate our present situation about it. She also gave an example of a patient who experienced a hard time opening up by denying that his parent’s relationship is falling apart. But it was treated when he reached out and shared it to a Psychologist. Hill encourages us not rush to make things okay but while we are still in pain, we should let other people help us.

An inspirational speaker and author Maxwell, J. C. said that we progress after coming to a realization that, unlike the optimistic standpoint, the real world is full of trouble. Once we internalize this viewpoint, we will stop pointing fingers at other sources and intentionally deal with underlying issues ourselves (2013).

Acceptance, on my opinion, is very important in order to realize that there is a life beyond disability. And after all, we still got a chance to live so the best thing to do is to maximize things we have now. Are you afraid to communicate and build friendship after a loss? Do you unintentionally punish yourself by believing that all things are gone and things will not be the same again because of this life-changing event? Acceptance is not necessarily a state of complete release but with the hope that in spite these situations, there is still a life and we are still willing to live on it. That’s why isolation or diversion will not really help us progress. Our healing starts when we take life –the raw life, a present reality that it can hit the hardest sting, and still manage to carry on. This is Jester and thank you for staying until here.


Dictionary. (2017). Acceptance. Retrieved February 15, 2017, from http://www.dictionary.com/browse/acceptance

Hill, T. (2016). Acceptance: 5 Stages of Grief & Loss. Retrieved February 15, 2017, from https://blogs.psychcentral.com/caregivers/2016/07/acceptance-5-stages-of-grief-loss/

Maxwell, J. C. (2013). Sometimes You Win, Sometimes You Learn. New York, New York: Hachette Book Group USA.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: